California Harassment Training Requirements - Are you in the Know? I HR Simplistic
If you’re a business owner in California, it’s important to understand the state’s harassment training requirements. In addition to promoting a safe and healthy work environment, these requirements are designed to protect businesses from costly litigation. Let’s dive into what you need to know and where HR Simplistic can help.
Who needs to receive training?
For companies with 5 or more employees, all employees must take either the standard 1-hour non-supervisory course and test. Managers or supervisors who manage employees must take the 2-hour course and test. You have it as 5 or more must have the 2-hour course and 50 or more must take the hour course. Below is the way the law is written for further clarification.
California law requires that all employers of 5 or more employees provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to nonsupervisory employees, and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to supervisory employees, every two years.
What should the training include?
The purpose of the harassment training is to educate both supervisors and non-supervisors on how to prevent and identify workplace harassment. Training should focus on identifying prohibited behavior, understanding the laws governing workplace discrimination, and providing practical examples of what constitutes unlawful harassment. The course should also include a discussion about retaliation against any employee who reports alleged incidents of unlawful harassment or participates in related investigations conducted by their employer.
What are the consequences of non-compliance?
Employers who fail to comply with California’s harassment prevention training requirements could face civil penalties ranging from $2,000-$25,000 per violation depending on the size of the employer's workforce. In addition, employers can be held liable for damages suffered by an employee due to unlawful workplace conduct based upon a failure to train on preventing such conduct in accordance with applicable law. HR Simplistic helps keep you compliant by offering online harassment prevention training courses in both English and Spanish.
Compliant harassment prevention training is critical for businesses in California, as it helps ensure that employees are educated about how to recognize inappropriate behavior while also protecting employers from costly litigation costs. By understanding your legal obligations under state law, you can take proactive steps toward creating a safe and healthy work environment for all employees while minimizing the risk associated with potential violations of applicable law. HR Simplistic has partnered with and provides online training courses through one of our training vendors in English and Spanish. We also have partners who are certified that can do in-person large-group training and testing. Our training is affordable, only $20 for the hourly 1-hour course per employee and $35 for the 2 hours supervisor/Managers courses. Taking time now to review your responsibilities with HR Simplistic, will help protect you—and your business—in the long run!